April newsletter – exciting news!

Hello.
 
I have some exciting news. My next book, “Turning Japanese,” is going to be published by the awesome Minneapolis-based 2D Cloud.
 
Here’s the press release.
 
To celebrate this, I’m giving away a custom-made avatar to a lucky raffle winner. You should enter. It’s free.
 
New publisher, new home, new dog. It’s been an exhilarating and chaotic month. But what’s more important:
 
COMICS TO READ
 
Smoke In Your Eyes – Coalinga (sad)
This will be the last in my Rumpus series, at least until after my book comes out (I’ll let you know when we figure out a date for that).
 
Smoke In Your Eyes – remastered (sad)
I’ve improved the quality (dpi) of some of my favorite SIYE’s and put them on Tapastic. Please give them another read. I’m putting them up weekly.
 
Frisco al Fresco – The Write Stuff
This is a short comic I made for the Women’s Review of Books a couple of years back. Re-configured and re-“printed” on the internet.
 
Frisco al Fresco – Safari West (review)
I visited this wild Santa Rosa animal sanctuary on a rainy day, and this is how it went.
 
Said While Talking – Omnivore (humor)
A post-mortem of my breakup from the hippie.
 
Said While Talking – Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head (humor)
Little dogs and why they’re scared of the rain.
 
Said While Talking – The True Meaning of Rap Lyrics (humor)
A little something about sexism in the music industry.
 
Said While Talking – Incontinence and Romance (humor)
This is what romance looks like in my household.
 
Said While Talking – Happily Ever After (humor)
The origin story of me and my husband!
 
Said While Talking – Baby Talk (humor)
Here’s where I embarrass myself in front of strangers. As per usual.
 
THINGS TO ATTEND
 
Los Angeles:
 
I’ll be doing a reading in Los Angeles on May 9, 2013. Email me if you want details. (I don’t have details yet.)
 
San Francisco:
 
On May 17, 2013, Radar Productions will be throwing a fundraising party to benefit the Radar Lab (writer’s retreat), which I’ll be attending in August. I am going to try to attend this San Francisco event, and I hope to see you there. Here’s the Facebook link.
 
Thanks for reading, and I hope you’re having a lovely day!
 
xo,
 
— 
MariNaomi
Web: http://marinaomi.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/marinaomi
Tumblr: http://marinaomi.tumblr.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/marinaomiart
Mailing list: https://groups.google.com/d/forum/marinaomi
 

Leave a Reply

