December Newsletter: Slipping into Wintertime

Hello there,

It has finally cooled down around here, much to my relief. More tea is being consumed, the kittens (who are really cats now, but they still act, sound and poop like kittens) are super cuddly, and I’ve finally gotten to try out the fireplace. Ahhhhhh.

I’ve got a few things to share with you today, and then I’ll let you go on your merry way.

* At long last, I’ve finally finished drawing my next graphic memoir, Turning Japanese! It’s a story about how, in my early twenties, I attempted to connect with my Asian-ness by working at Japanese hostess bars in San Jose and Tokyo. Portions of the book will start appearing online in early 2014, and will eventually be printed as a book by 2D Cloud in early 2015. I’ll let you know when that happens. 🙂

* I wrote an essay and it got published on the Weeklings! It’s about the time I got featured on a national cable TV show, and hijinks ensued. My first published essay, how exciting!

* I added some merchandise to my online store, including TWO NEW ZINES (Said While Talking and my Alison Bechdel interview in zine form), some reprints, and a silk-screened FEMINIST TOTE BAG. Take a look, and place your order while supplies last!

* I’ll be in some shows in December, including the Eastside Zine Fair, the Giant Robot Post-It show and GR’s print show, all in Los Angeles. Email me if you want details.

That’s all I’ve got for you today. I hope you’re staying warm and happy, and please feel free to drop me a line and tell me what’s what. 🙂

Love,

MariNaomi

Leave a Reply

