December Newsletter: Home again!

HOME AGAIN
HOME AGAIN
JIGGEDY JIG!

I’m BACK HOME from an exhilarating book tour that took me to the east coast, the SF bay area and the Pacific Northwest. I’m back to spooning my kittens at night, back to playing with my dogs, back to drawing while my elder cat punches her way onto my lap, back to sleeping in my comfy bed with my warm Gary, back to not holding in my farts around mixed company, back to not having to measure out my beauty products each day so that I won’t run out. What a luxury! But what fun I had on tour too, drinking fig-infused brandy with friends in Portland, tabling at conventions in varying states of lucidity, getting to meet internet pals IRL, meeting the fans that sustain me, and trying to convince everyone to buy my book.

But being home doesn’t mean I’ve stopped doing that last part, no way! In fact, if you haven’t read Dragon’s Breath and Other True Stories yet, please consider buying a copy (or copies for all your friends!). At no extra charge, I’m signing/sketching-by-request the books purchased from my website. You won’t be sorry—it’s getting great reviews. Look, I even made it its own web page where you can learn all about it.

Being home doesn’t mean I’ve stopped doing book-tour-like stuff, either. If you’re in California, check out what I’m doing in your neck of the woods for the next couple months.

HOLIDAY SPECIAL!

For a limited time, I’m offering mini-portraits starting at $40-50 + shipping. I’m also selling original artwork for cheap, some of it never before made public. I’m adding new work each day, but I intend to raise prices back to normal after the holidays are over. So act fast if you want a deal!

Also, my publisher 2D Cloud is literally giving away books this holiday season, including one of my favorite anthologies of all time, Little Heart. Little Heart was intended to raise money and awareness for gay marriage in Minnesota. Working with 2D Cloud to create a story for this, and then seeing how beautiful the book turned out, is directly responsible for me falling in love with them and having them as my publisher today. Seriously, FREE BOOKS. To call this a deal would be a huge understatement. Get yours here.

Speaking of 2D Cloud, they’ve recently posted online the eighth chapter of my upcoming graphic memoir, Turning Japanese. The comic, coming out in book form next fall, is about when I attempted to learn about Japanese culture by working at hostess bars in San Jose and Tokyo, back when I was a tender twenty-something hapa raised among white folks. Read it from the beginning here.

In other news, my database projects are still going strong. At last count, here’s the tally:
Cartoonists of Color: 784 total / 57 LGBTQ / 196 non-male / 356 non-mainstream
@COCdatabase on Twitter

LGBTQ Comics Database: 215 total
@LGBTQcomics on Twitter

I think that’s about it for now. Thank you for reading and happy holidays!

Your pal,
MariNaomi

Leave a Reply

